Stained Hands & a DIY Headboard

I don’t use Pinterest.

I know, I know, I can hear the females of the world gasp in unison. I used it quite a bit before I got married for all my décor ideas. I thought I could buy coffee filters, pipe cleaner, and some twine and I would have a beautiful wedding reception like all the pictures showed. I usually ended up covered in super glue and glitter for a week after every project. And still, somehow each DIY project never turn out quite like they look in pictures.

After my wedding (I will note that I used exactly ZERO of the crafts I made because we ended up having a destination wedding) I stopped using Pinterest altogether. It gave me too many ideas and I was spending way too much money and time at craft stores. That is important to note because craft stores are where joy and youth go to die. You should limit your exposure.

Recently I have been itching to find a new project for myself. I have a month off from school and no clue what to do with my time. I quickly decided that I wanted to make myself a headboard.

Our bedroom has always been the neglected room. It’s where we store our belongings that are eyesores anywhere else. Lately, I’ve been trying to put some effort into it because, after all, we spend about 2,920 hours a year on sleeping alone. That’s a lot of time to spend in a place we have been using as a glorified storage closet. 

Besides the wood, all I needed was a dark stain, a brush, some sand paper, and screws.

IMG_1346I ended up with poplar (wood) because it was recommended by a friend and it has interesting grain patterns. I got five pieces that are 5’5″ and two pieces at 5′ to use as the stand (or legs). 

IMG_1349I picked a dark stain called Carrington because I wanted a rich look. 

IMG_1359After the stain dried, I used two pieces of wood as legs for the headboard and connected the stained boards to it with screws. It’s important to get the top piece level or else the whole thing will be slanted. 

IMG_1362I accidentally made the legs too tall, which causes the gap between the top of the mattress and bottom of the headboard. I plan on shortening it to fix that problem. 

photoIMG_1393Overall, I love the result and I had a lot of fun making it. I still have a lot of work to do on the bedroom, but… baby steps, you know?

photoOn a side note; Gloves are important. Lesson learned. 

One comment

  1. Your blog is great! I was hoping you could kindly visit my blog and like or comment on anything you found interesting?

Leave a Reply

