An Anniversary to Remember

Many moons ago (sometime around April) I started brainstorming about my two year anniversary. I wanted to do something fun and different, something we would remember. For our first anniversary we were a little overwhelmed. We had just picked up and moved from Oregon to California and were just finally getting settled and finding jobs when our anniversary came around. We decided to go to Disneyland to celebrate. Don’t get me wrong, I love that place as much as the next person, but because we bought annual passes, our anniversary celebration is overshadowed by the countless other times we have gone since then. I know, my life is so hard. 

So this year I proclaimed we would do something different. After a short while of pondering (Coronado? No we just did that… Hawaii? No we can’t get enough time off… Eugene? No we already planned a separate trip there…) I thought of the perfect place to celebrate happiness, love, and a lifetime of commitment: Las Vegas. 

IMG_1205Stay with me here. True, Vegas may be a little nontraditional. It’s not a place where commitment is generally celebrated. However, Brock and I have never been (I went once before I was 21, but I decided that doesn’t count) and it would be a fun experience to have together. We decided to drive in on Saturday morning and stay until Monday. I was surprised by how quick the 4 hour drive went. We listened to music, laughed at podcasts, and ate our weight in RedVines. The landscape wasn’t hard on the eyes either. 
IMG_1194Once we checked into the Mirage, we spent most of the evening getting our bearings. It was a lot to take in at once. Vegas is a people-watcher’s dream so I was basically in heaven. We wandered around without any real plan or destination in mind. We ended up having dinner at a wonderful Italian restaurant next to the gondolas (see, Vegas can be romantic!). The next couple days were filled with pools, dressing up, room service, great food, and plenty of drinks. I have never been so entertained and confused at the same time. I suppose there is a reason why they say what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas (however writing a blog probably breaks those rules). We drove home on Monday afternoon already talking about what we plan to do on our next trip to Vegas.

IMG_1216 IMG_1223 The lighting in this hotel bathroom is the kind you have to take advantage of with copious amounts of pictures. I am already discussing how we can get this installed at home because it did wonders.
IMG_1231

IMG_1288The inside (yeah you read that right) of our hotel.IMG_1291IMG_1292The pool. Just look at it. In all of its gloriousness.

IMG_1293IMG_1297IMG_1302 IMG_1304 IMG_1307 IMG_1309 IMG_1311

IMG_1261IMG_1229IMG_1238It was the perfect weekend to celebrate two years of marriage. After all, one of the reasons I love Brock so much is his ability to push me out of my comfort zone. He was the one who told me there are other movies besides ones made in the 80s/ones starring Steven Seagal, such as Goodwill Hunting and the Departed. He showed me that tofu can actually taste good, and that I don’t have to be afraid of seasoning (I’m a recovering bland-aholic) He was also the one who pushed me to apply to graduate schools, and to aim high. He brings out the best version of me. So, it’s only fitting that we experience a new and crazy trip to celebrate two years of new and crazy things in our lives.
Happy anniversary Brock, I love you.

One comment

Leave a Reply

