U-hauls and the Sappy Posts They Cause

photo 2

I moved this weekend.

Moving is a funny thing. It comes with a lot of stress because you upheave your whole life, pack it into a rickety truck, barrel down the freeway hoping nothing breaks, then plunk it down in a new, unfamiliar place where you have to decide where the cheese grater and nail polish go (not in the same drawer).

Among the chaos of moving this week, I also got a new job. I now work in the President’s Office at USC where I handle administrative tasks and support the Executive Office. It’s really an amazing opportunity and I feel so lucky to be a part of the team. However, there is a lot of stress that comes with starting a new job. You do all sorts of fun things to yourself, like not sleeping at all the night before and leaving 4 hours early even though it takes you 25 minutes to drive there. Oh and spilling coffee. Always spilling coffee.

So anyway, with all this happening, we were in desperate need for help moving.

Luckily for the husband and I, my in-laws flew in from Oregon to help us with this fun task. It was also Mother’s Day and my father-in-law’s birthday, so I can’t think of a better way to celebrate than carry someone else’s couches through a small doorframe.

Yet, they did it anyway. Thank goodness. We wouldn’t have been able to do it without all their help. Somehow we managed to pack up all our things, get them in the truck, unload them at the new place, unpack the boxes in the new place, then clean the old place, all in 48 hours. We even managed to sneak in a little fun along the way. We explored our new city of Long Beach by walking downtown, eating at new restaurants, and taking a very brief ride on the Metro (where a lady was cradling her scary looking doll….Happy Mother’s Day?). We also took a trip to USC so I could give everyone a tour of the campus and show them the building I work in.

IMG_0511

That’s the one!

IMG_0514

IMG_0525

IMG_0530

IMG_0534

IMG_0541

IMG_0548

IMG_0549

IMG_0550

IMG_0558

IMG_0561

IMG_0567

IMG_0570

IMG_0573

IMG_0576

IMG_0577

IMG_0578

IMG_0581

IMG_0583

IMG_0589

IMG_0502

Without getting too sappy, I am so thankful for my in-laws. First of all, they are so good looking. Just look at them.

Dusty is one of the most hardworking people I have ever met. Every single time Brock and I have moved (there have been many) he has dropped everything to help us. It doesn’t matter what city or state we are living in at the time, he will be there. He lives his life with such integrity and work ethic and I hope to be like that one day.

Jodi is one of the most incredible women I have ever met. Saying she has a big heart doesn’t do it justice because that saying is used too freely. She is a gentle and loving spirit who is willing to do anything for the people she loves. She has been a friend for me to lean on. She has been a shoulder for me to cry on. She has been the person I laughed with until I cried. She has been a mother to me when I didn’t have one.

Both of these people have taken me into their family without hesitation. Not only that, but they have given Brock and I a wonderful example of marriage. They are real, honest, and hard-working in their relationship. They have taught us so much about how real love requires sacrifice and selflessness. We are so thankful for that gift.

So much for not being sappy. Wait, I thought this post was about moving?

One comment

  1. rolex kinetic watch
    It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is
    time to be happy. I’ve read this publish and if I may just I want to counsel you few attention-grabbing things or tips.
    Perhaps you can write subsequent articles referring to this article.
    I wish to learn even more issues about it!

Leave a Reply

