Birthday Weekend.

Image

I love surprises. I’m the type of person who wants everything to be a surprise, from shows, to movies to presents, and everything in-inbetween. Even as a kid, I never tried to sneak a peek at Christmas presents. I wanted to be shocked on Christmas morning. Now, I still enjoy surprising Brock for just about every holiday. I like to barely acknowledge an upcoming holiday or birthday, and I make sure to never ask him what he wants because that would be too obvious. Then on the day of, its like BAM presents. Where did these come from? Yeah from me, that’s who. Of course, he has caught on by now, but that doesn’t stop me.

Also, another issue is that I’m a bit hard to surprise. If you ask me any sort of question related to a surprise, act strange in any way, or get caught whispering on the phone, I will probably figure out what you’re doing. This happens in other parts of my life too: Brock hates how halfway through a movie I’ll already know the ending. I don’t know why my brain is wired this way, but I should probably look into becoming a detective.

All this to say, I didn’t really know what to expect for my birthday this year. Turning 23 seems a little anticlimactic because it’s not exactly a milestone. I knew Brock was planning something, but he did a surprisingly good job keeping it under wraps. He told me the week before my birthday weekend that we needed to be up and ready to leave the house by 9am on Saturday. Other than that, I didn’t really know what he was planning.

Friday night after work I went out to dinner with Brock and some of my favorite ladies, Kylie and Natalie. I met them my freshman year of college because we lived on the same dorm hall. I am so happy they live so close to me now because I love getting to hang out with them. It’s so fun to still friends with these girls 4 years later and see how much has changed in our lives since then. We talked, laughed, ate amazing mexican food and drank even better margaritas.

Image

The next morning, on my actual birthday, Brock made me cinnamon rolls and had a whole little set-up with presents and flowers. I opened them while eating my delicious breakfast. For the record, opening presents is always more fun in your pajamas with cinnamon rolls. Trust me. I opened a little paper with hotel reservations on it: He had surprised me with a weekend trip to Coronado to stay the night at the Glorietta Bay Inn. If you have never been there, Coronado is the most amazing place in California. It’s a small island off of San Diego and it is unbelievably gorgeous. The hotel we stayed in is super pretty and historical. Also, the Hotel Del Coronado is right across the street and it’s the most incredible building I have ever seen. It’s completely wooden and every room, tree and chair seems so have some sort of historical relevance. Needless to say, I was beyond excited. We packed our bags and headed south to the best weekend ever.

After checking into the hotel, we walked around the beach. The sand is super white and it was a surprisingly warm day. I was beyond happy because this was the first year of my life (because I grew up in Oregon) that it hasn’t rained on my birthday. It has been a while since this white body had seen the sun so I was doing my best to soak it all in. We even came across a sandcastle someone had built with a happy birthday message! Obviously it was for me.

We had the best time chatting, people watching, and wandering the streets. The best thing about Coronado is everything is within walking distance. It’s the best place to escape and celebrate. Next, we decided to restaurant hop. We were only there for one day and we ate at about three different places. We are dedicated to our love of food. We had fun drinks at a new restaurant, and the bartender even let us try a shot of the mango and chipotle infused tequila. I’m actually surprised by how much I liked it. Next we went to a mexican restaurant to get some margaritas. Are you catching on to how much I like margaritas? The bartender was determined to give me a strong drink and he put almost three shots of patron in my drink. That’s about the time I signed my death warrant for the night. We decided to go get dinner at a restaurant that makes homemade pasta and garlic bread. Nothing like good homemade carbs to help you sober up.

After eating, we decided to run down to the beach to watch the sunset. We sat on our own personal little dune and watched the sun sink behind a cliff. It was so beautiful, I think we were both a little speechless. After it set, we decided to take some cliche jumping pictures, which ended up being one of my favorite parts of the whole weekend. I rolled around in the sand, crying laughing, watching Brock attempt to jump off the dune. His form was impeccable. By the end of it, we were both covered in sand from head to toe. So we decided to head back to the hotel room. I told Brock that he better not fall asleep because I had plans to go back out again. Five minutes later I fell asleep. Busted. About a half hour later I woke up ready to rally, but Brock had fallen asleep by then. I guilted him into getting up by reminding him that I never got a birthday dessert which is probably a crime in California. So we pulled ourselves together and went down to MooTime, which had a line out the door. It’s a cute little creamery that’s really popular in Coronado, and we got there just in time because they were 15 minutes away from closing. Chocolate milkshake in hand, I could happily head back to the hotel room for the night. After watching two episodes of Cops, we both passed out.

The next day, Brock had already made plans for us to go to the San Diego Zoo for the day. This was part II of his surprise weekend. I looove animals, so I was beyond excited. The San Diego Zoo is HUGE, so we trekked around for most of the day checking out all there is to see. My favorite parts were when we saw the polar bears playing in the water, the meerkats running in and out of their tunnels, and the hippo. I have a strange obsession with hippos and there was one sleeping right by the glass! I could have kissed him. It was also really fun to ride the Skyfari, which is a little air-lift that takes you to the other side of the park. After hours in the sun, and once we had seen everything, we were definitely ready to come home. We still had a two hour drive, so we headed back. All in all, it was the best birthday I have ever had. I have never been so surprised or felt so loved. So thank you to my handsome husband who planned the best weekend that I will never forget.

Also, said handsome husband bought me a camera for my birthday! So hopefully this will be one of the last posts I make with iPhone pictures. I’m impatiently waiting for it to come in the mail. I am still in the market for a camera bag, so if you have any suggestions I would love to hear them.  

Image

Image

Glorietta Bay Inn

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

7 comments

  1. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Appreciate it

  2. Appreciating the commitment you put into your website and detailed information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

